The most useful thing we found while checking out the Huffy Quantis Kids eBike was not a spec. It was a contradiction on Huffy’s own product page, where the visible listing describes a 24-inch aluminum bike and the page’s own embedded product data describes a 20-inch steel one. Both were live on the same URL on July 29, 2026.
That matters more than it would on an adult bike. This is a purchase for a minor, usually bought online, usually assembled at home, and wheel size is one of the two or three things that decide whether it fits the kid at all.
Electrek’s Micah Toll reported on the bike July 29, 2026, describing a 24-inch-wheel pedal-assist e-bike aimed at riders 12 and up at a listed $899.99. Huffy’s own page for model E4704 shows the same price and the same headline figures. What neither source resolves is the wheel size mismatch, or a second inconsistency in how the bike’s age range is described. Those are the two things a family should pin down before anything else, and both can be settled with one email.
What Electrek Reported and What Huffy’s Listing Says
The two sources agree on most of the headline numbers, which is worth stating plainly before getting to where they do not.
Electrek reports a 250W rear hub motor, a 36V 7.8Ah battery that is removable and lockable, pedal assist or throttle up to 15 mph, mechanical disc brakes, a Shimano six-speed drivetrain, an LCD display, three assist levels, an aluminum hardtail frame, 24 x 3 inch knobby tires, 24-inch wheels, a design target of ages 12 and up, and a $899.99 listed price. Huffy’s page for model E4704 lists the same 250W motor, the same 36V 7.8Ah battery, the same 15 mph ceiling, the same LCD, three pedal assist levels, a thumb throttle, mechanical disc brakes, six speeds, aluminum as the frame material, and the same $899.99. Huffy adds a 42V 2A charger and a recommended rider height of 44 to 56 inches.
So the picture is consistent on the drivetrain and electrical side. The disagreement is structural, and it is inside Huffy’s own page rather than between the two sources.
Quantis Kids eBike: what each source says, and what stays open
data| Item | Reported by Electrek | On Huffy's official listing | RoostMode read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Quantis Kids eBike | Quantis Kids Electric Bike, model E4704 | Quote the model number in any question you send. It is the only unambiguous identifier here. |
| Price | $899.99 listed | $899.99, shown in stock at verification | Observed on July 29, 2026. Not an evergreen figure. Confirm before ordering. |
| Wheel size | 24-inch wheels, 24 x 3 inch knobby tires | 24-inch in the visible title, page description, and spec table; 20-inch in the page's embedded product data | Unresolved on the official page. Confirm in writing before purchase. |
| Frame material | Aluminum hardtail | Aluminum in the spec table; durable steel frame in the page's embedded product data | Unresolved on the official page. Same question, same email. |
| Motor | 250W rear hub | 250W | Both sources agree. |
| Battery | 36V 7.8Ah, removable and lockable | 36V 7.8Ah | Agreed. Certification and replacement availability are not stated by either source. |
| Charger | Not specified | 42V 2A | Confirm it ships in the box rather than assuming. |
| Top speed | Up to 15 mph on pedal assist or throttle | Up to 15 mph | Agreed. A speed figure is not a legal classification. See below. |
| Brakes | Mechanical disc | Mechanical disc | Agreed. Setup quality is on whoever assembles it. |
| Drivetrain | Shimano six-speed | 6 speeds | Agreed. |
| Controls | Three assist levels, throttle | 3 pedal assist levels, thumb throttle, LCD | Agreed. Throttle presence is a legal question in some places. |
| Age and fit | Designed for ages 12 and up | Ages 12+ in the page title; recommended age 10 to adult in the specs; recommended height 44 to 56 inches; electric bikes categorized as 14+ in site navigation | Three different age signals from one manufacturer. Ask rather than pick the one you prefer. |
The Wheel Size and Frame Material Question Comes First
Here is exactly what is on the page. The visible product title, the browser page title, the visible description, and the specification table all describe a 24-inch bike with an aluminum frame. The page’s social sharing description and its embedded structured product data both describe a 20-inch bike with a durable steel frame. Electrek’s report matches the first version.
Our read, and this is analysis rather than something either source states, is that the embedded data most likely went stale, either carried over from an earlier or adjacent model or left behind by a template. That is the boring explanation and probably the right one. It is also not something we can confirm, and a buyer does not get to bet on a guess about someone else’s content management system.
The stakes are practical. A four-inch difference in wheel diameter changes standover height and reach, which is the whole fit question on a kid’s bike. Aluminum versus steel changes weight, which changes whether a 12-year-old can pick the bike up off the ground, walk it up a curb, or get it back on its wheels after a fall. Those are the things that determine whether the bike gets ridden or parked.
The Age Range Does Not Line Up Either, and Fit Is the Real Question
Huffy’s page title says ages 12 and up, which matches Electrek’s framing. The specification table on the same page says recommended age 10 to adult. The site’s own navigation categorizes electric bikes as 14 and up. We are not going to resolve that for you, because only Huffy can say which is the intended guidance and there is no basis for us to pick one.
What we can say is that the number to shop by is not the age at all. It is the height figure: 44 to 56 inches. That is a wide span, roughly the difference between a small third grader and a mid-sized eighth grader, and a single-size bike that genuinely works at both ends of it would be unusual. Ask where in that range the bike actually fits best, and ask for the standover height and the seatpost adjustment range as numbers.
Then measure the kid. Standover clearance with flat feet on the ground is the one that keeps a young rider out of trouble when a stop happens faster than planned. Reach to the bars and to the brake levers matters just as much on a bike with a throttle, because a thumb throttle and a brake lever both have to be operated by the same small hands, sometimes at the same time. If the levers cannot be pulled comfortably from the hoods, ask whether the reach is adjustable before you buy rather than after.
What the 15 mph Cap Tells You, and What It Does Not
Both sources put the ceiling at 15 mph on pedal assist or throttle. That is slower than the 20 mph ceiling common to Class 1 and Class 2 e-bikes, and it is easy to read that as automatically legal and automatically fine for a kid. It is neither, and it is worth being precise about why.
A top speed figure does not by itself establish a legal class, and a class does not by itself establish that a particular rider may ride a particular machine in a particular place. Minimum age rules for e-bike riders vary by state. Throttle-equipped bikes are treated differently from pedal-assist-only bikes in some jurisdictions and on some trail systems. Helmet requirements for minors are set separately again, often at a different age threshold than the riding age. Our state-by-state e-bike law guide is a starting point for the road-use side, and it is a starting point rather than an answer for your address.
Campus and trail rules are a separate layer on top of all of that. Orange County’s school board just approved rules keyed to whether the student holds a driver’s license or learner’s permit, not to what the bike is, which we covered in our report on that policy. If part of the purchase case for this bike is a school commute, the district’s rule is a question to settle before ordering, not after.
Battery, Charging, and Service: What Neither Source Covers
The battery is listed at 36V 7.8Ah and described as removable and lockable, with a 42V 2A charger on Huffy’s spec table. Removable is a genuine convenience on a kid’s bike, because it means the pack can be charged somewhere other than wherever the bike is parked, and it means the bike can be immobilized without a garage.
Neither source states a battery safety certification. That is the single question we would put highest on the list for any e-bike bought for a child. Ask whether the battery pack is certified to UL 2271 and whether the complete e-bike electrical system is certified to UL 2849, ask Huffy for documentation or a certifying mark applicable to model E4704, and ask what cells are inside. Ask what a replacement pack costs, whether one is currently purchasable, and how long they expect to stock it, because a kids bike that outlives its battery supply becomes a heavy bicycle.
Then ask the service questions, which on a value-priced e-bike are usually the ones that decide the experience. Mechanical disc brakes need correct setup and periodic pad and cable adjustment, and a six-speed derailleur needs indexing. Neither is difficult, and neither is automatic out of a box. Find out what arrives assembled, what the warranty covers and for how long, whether the return window survives assembly, and where the bike goes if the controller or display fails. A local shop willing to do the first safety check is worth the fee on a bike a kid will ride, and our dealer directory is a place to start looking. Our e-bike maintenance guide covers the recurring items an owner ends up handling regardless.
Is This Bike on Your List?
Where does your household land on the Quantis?
quick pick| If you… | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| your rider is near the middle of the 44 to 56 inch range | Worth a look once the wheel size is confirmed | Fit is the deciding variable and the official listing does not currently agree with itself on wheel diameter. |
| your rider is at either end of that height range | Ask for standover height before anything else | One frame size across a 12-inch height span is a stretch. Get the number rather than the range. |
| you were buying primarily for a school commute | Settle the school policy first | Campus rules can turn on the rider's credentials or on the device category, and they are set by the district rather than by the manufacturer. |
| battery certification matters to you, and it should | Do not order until you have an answer | Neither source states a UL certification. Ask for it in writing, and treat no answer as an answer. |
| you have no local shop and would not adjust brakes yourself | Factor a setup fee into the price | Mechanical discs and a derailleur need a competent first setup, and this is a bike a child will ride. |
| you want a machine that grows with the rider for years | Ask about the seatpost and stem range before assuming it does | The listing gives a height range but not the adjustment figures that determine how long a bike stays usable. |
| you are buying your first e-bike alongside the kid's | Start with the fundamentals, not the model | Fit, battery, brakes, and support drive the decision at every price point. Our first e-bike guide covers the sequence. |
The Questions to Send Before You Order
Roughly in order of how much they can cost you:
- Wheel diameter and frame material for model E4704, confirmed for the unit being shipped. The official page is currently inconsistent on both.
- Battery and system certification. UL 2271 for the battery pack and UL 2849 for the complete e-bike electrical system, with documentation or a certifying mark applicable to model E4704, plus cell information if they will give it.
- Assembled weight and standover height. Weight determines whether the kid can handle the bike off the saddle.
- Which age guidance is correct. The page title, the spec table, and the site navigation give three different answers.
- What ships in the box. Charger included, assembly state, tools, and whether a torque spec sheet comes with it.
- Replacement battery cost, availability, and expected support window.
- Warranty scope and duration, including what is excluded and who performs the work.
- Return policy after assembly. Whether a partially built bike can go back, and who pays return shipping.
- Service and parts path. Brake pads, cables, controller, display, and who diagnoses an electrical fault.
- Current price and stock. The $899.99 we saw was one snapshot on one day.
Bottom Line
Our read of the published reporting and the official listing, without having ridden the bike: a $899.99 pedal-assist bike with a 250W motor, a removable battery, disc brakes, and a real six-speed drivetrain is a coherent product idea for a young rider, and the 15 mph ceiling is a more sensible target for this audience than the faster machines that dominate the category.
The problem is that the official listing cannot presently tell you what the bike is. A 24-inch aluminum bike and a 20-inch steel bike are different purchases for a growing kid, and one URL is describing both. Add three inconsistent age signals from the same manufacturer and the honest position is that this is a bike worth asking about rather than one worth ordering on a spec sheet. Those questions are cheap. Sending them is the whole job.
FAQ
FAQ
+Has RoostMode ridden or tested the Huffy Quantis Kids eBike?
+Is the Quantis a 24-inch bike or a 20-inch bike?
+What age is this bike actually for?
+Does the 15 mph limit make this bike legal for my kid to ride?
+How far will it go on a charge?
+Is the battery safe, and can I replace it later?
+Does it come assembled, and who sets up the brakes?
Sources
- “Huffy’s kids e-bike makes a compelling case for pedal-assisted riding” (Electrek, Micah Toll, published July 29, 2026 at 7:45 am PT): the source for the reported 24-inch wheels, ages 12 and up framing, $899.99 listed price, aluminum hardtail, 24 x 3 inch knobby tires, 250W rear hub motor, 36V 7.8Ah removable and lockable battery, 15 mph ceiling on pedal assist or throttle, mechanical disc brakes, Shimano six-speed drivetrain, LCD, and three assist levels. Loaded directly on July 29, 2026. Electrek frames the bike around lowering barriers to riding; we have not repeated the general health or exercise framing from that report as established fact.
- Huffy Quantis Kids Electric Bike official product page, model E4704: loaded directly on July 29, 2026. Source for the $899.99 price and in-stock status at that time, model number, 250W motor, 36V 7.8Ah battery, 42V 2A charger, up to 15 mph, LCD, three pedal assist levels, thumb throttle, mechanical disc brakes, six speeds, aluminum frame material, and recommended rider height of 44 to 56 inches. This page also contained the internal inconsistencies described above: its social sharing description and embedded structured product data describe a 20-inch bike with a durable steel frame while the visible title, page title, description, and specification table describe a 24-inch aluminum bike, and its age guidance appears as 12 and up in the page title, 10 to adult in the specifications, and 14 and up in site navigation. We have not treated the conflicting embedded data as the product specification.
- Hero image: official Huffy product gallery image for the Quantis Kids Electric Bike, model E4704, original 1799x1200. Cropped by RoostMode to a 1600x900 16:9 WebP and optimized. RoostMode did not photograph this bike and has not seen one in person.
- Price and availability were observed on a single date and are not evergreen. Confirm current figures with Huffy or the seller.

