RoostModeRoostMode
Dorado V3 full-size electric dirt bike shown in a Dorado press photo published with New Atlas's July 2026 report
News

Dorado's V3 Claims a 7.2 kWh Swappable Battery for $10,499. Here Is What a Buyer Should Verify First

By RoostMode Team•

Dorado V3 electric dirt bike claims 48 hp, 80 mph, and a swappable 7.2 kWh pack at $10,499. What to confirm on packs, warranty, delivery, and service.

The most interesting number on the Dorado V3 spec sheet is 7.2 kWh, and it is attached to the word swappable. On an electric dirt bike, a pack you can pull and replace is the difference between a half day of riding and a full one, and it is the feature most likely to sell this machine to riders who have already given up on charging at the trailhead.

It is also the claim with the least public detail behind it. New Atlas published Utkarsh Sood’s report on the Dorado V3 on July 27, 2026, describing a full-size electric dual sport from San Francisco based Dorado Motorsports, founded by Erez Frank and Nick Kluger. The report lists a claimed 36 kW (48 hp) motor, an 81-volt architecture, a claimed 80 mph top speed, claimed range of more than 70 miles on trail, and a reported price of US $10,499.

What that report does not cover is how the swap actually works: what a spare pack costs, whether you can buy one, how it is warranted, how it charges, and who fixes it when it stops working. That gap is the subject of this article.

What Dorado Claims, Stated as Claims

The V3 is described as a full-size electric dual sport rather than a small-frame e-moto, and the chassis figures New Atlas lists are consistent with that: 21-inch front and 18-inch rear wheels, 14.1 inches of ground clearance, a 58.5-inch wheelbase, and a 37.2-inch seat height. Suspension is listed as KYB with 12.2 inches of travel up front and 12.5 inches at the rear, without setup detail.

Braking is listed as a 270 mm front and 240 mm rear hydraulic disc. Claimed weight is 230 to 260 lb depending on configuration, a spread wide enough that it matters which configuration you would actually be buying.

Dorado V3: claimed figures as reported by New Atlas

data
ItemWhat is claimedStatus
Motor36 kW (48 hp)Dorado claim via New Atlas
Electrical architecture81 voltsDorado claim via New Atlas
Battery7.2 kWh, described as swappableDorado claim via New Atlas
Top speed80 mphDorado claim via New Atlas; not independently verified
RangeMore than 70 miles of trail rangeDorado claim via New Atlas; no measured test reported
ChargingTwo hours on 220 VClaim reported by New Atlas; charger and equipment details not stated
SuspensionKYB, 12.2 in front and 12.5 in rear travel; setup details not in the reportListed via New Atlas
Brakes270 mm front and 240 mm rear hydraulic discsListed via New Atlas
Wheels21 in front, 18 in rearListed via New Atlas
Geometry14.1 in ground clearance, 58.5 in wheelbase, 37.2 in seat heightListed via New Atlas
Weight230 to 260 lb depending on configurationDorado claim via New Atlas
PriceUS $10,499Reported by New Atlas; unverified current pricing

This Is a Motorcycle, Not an E-Bike

A claimed 80 mph top speed puts the V3 outside the three-class e-bike system entirely. Class 1, 2, and 3 e-bikes are pedal-equipped bicycles capped at 20 or 28 mph, and nothing about a 36 kW machine with a 37.2-inch seat height fits that definition. Do not read anything here as saying the V3 belongs in a bike lane, on a multi-use path, or on a trail posted for bicycles.

Where a machine like this can be ridden depends on how your state and your land manager classify it, what equipment it carries, and whether it is registered. Those answers vary by jurisdiction, and nothing in the reporting establishes that the V3 can be titled or registered anywhere in particular. Our explainer on the e-moto classification problem covers why these machines fall between categories, and our overview of whether electric dirt bikes are street legal walks through the questions worth asking locally.


The Swappable Battery Is the Pitch, and the Open Question

A 7.2 kWh pack is large for this category, and if it comes out of the frame quickly, the ownership story changes: you ride, you swap, you keep riding, and the charging happens on your schedule instead of the bike’s. That is a genuinely good idea, and it is worth taking seriously.

The problem is that “swappable” describes a design intent, not a product you can use. A swap system only pays off if spare packs exist, are purchasable, are affordable relative to the bike, and are something one person can actually handle. New Atlas does not report a spare pack price. Against a reported $10,499 bike, a spare at a quarter of that number is a different proposition than one at two thirds of it.

Handling is the part buyers routinely underestimate. Lithium packs in this capacity range are typically heavy enough to be a deliberate two-hand lift, and a claimed 230 to 260 lb bike does not have much room to hide a light one. Before you count on trailside swapping, ask for the pack’s weight and dimensions, how it latches and unlatches, whether removal needs tools, and whether one person can do it on uneven ground with gloves on. Our electric dirt bike battery guide covers how to read capacity and cell specs on any pack you are considering.

Then ask the questions that outlive the honeymoon. What is the warranty term on the pack specifically, as distinct from the bike, and does it cover capacity fade or only outright failure? What is the replacement cost after warranty? Who repairs a pack, and where does it go? Can packs be shipped at all, given the hazardous-materials restrictions that apply to batteries this size? A swap system with no purchasable spares and no repair path is a frame feature, not a fuel strategy.


The Charging Claim Needs a Real-World Translation

New Atlas reports a claimed two-hour charge on 220 V. Read that as a claim tied to specific equipment, because the sentence leaves out the parts that determine whether it applies to you.

Ask what charger produces that time, whether it is included in the $10,499 or sold separately, what it costs if separate, and what amperage and outlet type it needs. A 220 V circuit is not a given in a home garage, and installing one is an electrician’s job with a real bill attached. Ask what the charge time is on standard household 120 V, because for many buyers that is the number that will actually govern their week. Ask whether the pack can be charged off the bike, since off-bike charging is what makes a spare pack useful in the first place.


What the Reporting Says Is Still Unproven

This comes from the source rather than from us. New Atlas explicitly flags several areas as still needing proof on the V3: overall refinement, throttle calibration, regenerative braking, controller tuning, battery thermal management, long-term reliability, and after-sales support.

That list is not a criticism of the concept. It is an accurate account of what the reporting could not settle, and it maps closely to the things that decide whether an electric dirt bike is pleasant or miserable to own. Throttle calibration and controller tuning decide whether 48 hp is usable on loose ground. Thermal management decides what happens on a hot day in deep sand, when a big pack is working hardest. After-sales support decides most of the rest.

Company stability is fair to weigh here too. Even established players in electric two-wheelers are still working through the economics, which is the backdrop to our read of LiveWire’s Q2 2026 results. A young company with a first full-size machine carries more of that risk, not less, and the way to manage it as a buyer is to verify terms rather than predict outcomes.


Wait or Buy: An Honest Framework

Should the Dorado V3 be on your list right now?

quick pick
If you…PickWhy
you want a machine you can ride this seasonLook at what is already shippingThe reporting does not establish current availability or delivery timing. Our [electric dirt bike comparison](/comparisons/electric-dirt-bike-showdown-surron-ktm-stark-varg/) covers machines with established track records.
the swappable pack is the reason you are interestedGet spare pack price and availability in writing firstNo spare pack price is reported, and the swap advantage does not exist until a second pack is purchasable at a price you would actually pay.
you would be financing or stretching to buyWaitNew Atlas flags long-term reliability and after-sales support as unproven. That risk is easier to carry when the purchase is discretionary.
you have a nearby dealer or service option confirmedReasonable to keep on the listService access is the largest ownership variable on a low-volume machine, so confirming it changes the risk materially.
you need a street-legal machineConfirm titling locally before anything elseRegistration and equipment requirements are set by your state and are not established by this reporting.
you are a shorter riderSit on it before committingA claimed 37.2-inch seat height is full-size dirt bike territory, and no spec change fixes a bike you cannot get a foot down on.
you are comparing it against a class 1, 2, or 3 e-bikeDifferent category entirelyA claimed 80 mph top speed places it outside the e-bike classes, with different rules, insurance, gear, and riding-area questions.

The Pre-Purchase Checklist

If you do contact Dorado, these are the items worth getting in writing before any deposit, roughly in order of how much they can cost you:

  • Order and delivery terms. Is this an order or a preorder, is the deposit refundable, under what conditions, and what delivery window is committed rather than estimated.
  • Spare pack price, availability, and lead time. Including whether packs can be shipped to your address and what carrier restrictions apply.
  • Battery warranty in full. Term, capacity-retention terms if any, what voids it, and who performs the work.
  • Charger and electrical requirements. What is included, what the 220 V claim assumes, and the charge time on a standard household outlet.
  • Service path. Who diagnoses a controller fault, where the bike or pack goes, who pays shipping, and what typical turnaround looks like.
  • Parts availability. Controllers, chargers, and battery management components, not just wear items.
  • Configuration detail. Which configuration corresponds to the 230 lb figure and which to 260 lb, and what else changes between them.
  • Registration documentation. What paperwork ships with the bike, as covered above.

If Dorado answers those clearly, you are in a good position to decide. If several come back vague, that is information too, and it is cheaper to collect now than after a deposit.

Bottom Line

Our read of the published reporting, not a test of our own: the Dorado V3 is an interesting set of claims from a young company, built around a swappable 7.2 kWh pack that would genuinely change how a trail day works if the supporting pieces exist. The geometry New Atlas reports describes a real full-size machine rather than an oversized e-moto. The US $10,499 figure is what has been reported, and it stays unverified current pricing until Dorado confirms it in writing.

The accessible reporting did not independently establish refinement, long-term reliability, after-sales support, current availability, or delivery, and the source says as much itself. The useful position for a buyer is neither dismissal nor deposit. It is a list of questions, most of which Dorado can answer in an email, and a willingness to walk away from any that come back unanswered.

FAQ

FAQ

+Has RoostMode ridden the Dorado V3?
No. RoostMode has not ridden or tested this machine, and we have no in-house ride-testing program. Every specification, performance figure, and price in this article is a Dorado claim as reported by New Atlas in Utkarsh Sood's July 27, 2026 article. Dorado's official product page returned an HTTP 403 error from our environment, so the accessible reporting did not independently establish refinement, long-term reliability, after-sales support, current availability, or delivery. Our contribution is the buyer analysis and verification checklist built on top of that reporting.
+Can I buy a Dorado V3 right now, and how much is it?
New Atlas reports a price of US $10,499, and that remains an unverified reported figure rather than confirmed current pricing. We cannot confirm availability, order status, or delivery timing from the accessible reporting. Confirm directly with Dorado what is actually purchasable, what the current price is, whether any payment is a deposit or a full order, whether it is refundable, and what delivery window is committed in writing rather than estimated.
+How much does a spare battery cost?
Not reported. New Atlas describes the 7.2 kWh pack as swappable but does not give a spare pack price. This matters more than most spec-sheet items, because the swap capability only delivers value if a second pack is purchasable at a price you would actually pay. Ask Dorado for the spare pack price, current availability, lead time, warranty terms on the pack itself, and whether packs can be shipped to your address given the hazardous-materials restrictions that apply to batteries this size.
+Is the Dorado V3 an e-bike, and can I ride it on bike paths?
No, it is not an e-bike. A claimed 80 mph top speed and a claimed 36 kW motor place it well outside the Class 1, 2, and 3 system, which covers pedal-equipped bicycles limited to 20 or 28 mph. Nothing in this article should be read as saying the V3 is permitted on bike lanes, multi-use paths, or bicycle trails. Where a machine like this may be ridden depends on your state's vehicle classification, the equipment fitted, whether it is registered, and the rules of the specific land you want to ride on, so confirm all of that with your state agency and land manager before buying.
+How long does it take to charge?
New Atlas reports a claimed two-hour charge on 220 V, and that claim leaves out the details that determine whether it applies to your situation. Ask Dorado which charger produces that time, whether it is included in the price or sold separately and at what cost, what amperage and outlet type it requires, and what the charge time is on a standard household 120 V outlet. Also ask whether the pack can be charged off the bike, since off-bike charging is what makes owning a spare pack useful.
+What does New Atlas say still needs to be proven?
The report explicitly flags overall refinement, throttle calibration, regenerative braking, controller tuning, battery thermal management, long-term reliability, and after-sales support as areas awaiting demonstration. That list is a fair description of a first full-size machine from a young company rather than a verdict on the design. It is also a useful buying filter, because those specific items are what separate an electric dirt bike that is pleasant to own from one that is not, and none of them can be judged from a spec sheet.
+How does it compare to a Sur-Ron, a Stark Varg, or a Talaria?
New Atlas mentions Stark Varg, Zero FXE, and Talaria Komodo as broad positioning references, and we are deliberately not putting competitor specifications or prices next to the V3's claims here, because doing so would imply a level of verification that does not exist on the Dorado side. What is clear from the reported geometry, including 21-inch and 18-inch wheels and a 37.2-inch seat height, is that this is a full-size machine rather than a smaller-framed e-moto. If you want a comparison between machines with established track records, our electric dirt bike showdown is the better starting point.

Sources

Read next

Affiliate Disclosure: Some links on this page may earn us a small commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we'd use ourselves. This helps us keep producing detailed guides. Full disclosure →