RoostModeRoostMode
A folding-style electric bicycle with a front hub motor and a rear rack mounted battery parked on grass, used as general e-bike imagery and not a photograph of Jacksonville or of any event described in this article
News

Jacksonville's Proposed E-Bike Rules: What Ordinance 2026-0570 Would Change, and What Is Already Law

By RoostMode Team•

Jacksonville is weighing a 10 mph sidewalk cap, an under-11 age floor, an under-16 helmet rule, and a passenger ban for e-bikes. The bill is in committee.

If you ride an e-bike in Jacksonville, the most important thing to know about the city’s proposed 10 mph sidewalk speed limit is that it is not a speed limit. Not yet. It is a line in a bill that a council committee has not voted on.

Councilman Michael Boylan introduced the measure on July 28, 2026. As of our check of the city’s Legistar record on August 3, 2026, its status reads In Committee, it sits on the August 3 agenda, and a public hearing is scheduled for August 11, 2026 under Chapter 166, Florida Statutes and Council Rule 3.601. Its history tab lists two rows, and only one carries a result: the July 28 introduction and committee assignment, marked Pass. The August 3 Rules Committee row shows no result yet. Nothing has passed.

That gap between “proposed” and “in force” is doing real work here, because several items in the coverage of this bill are things you are already required to do under Florida law, and the bill text contains a few provisions that the coverage rounded off.

What already binds you in Jacksonville today

Section 316.20655, Florida Statutes, governs e-bikes statewide right now, and it is more demanding than most riders realize.

Two provisions in it match items in the Jacksonville bill. Since January 1, 2021, manufacturers and distributors have been required to apply a permanently affixed label in a prominent location showing the classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage. Separately, the statute already says no person may tamper with or modify an e-bike so as to change its motor-powered speed capability or engagement unless the classification label is replaced after the modification. So the label and anti-modification items are not new obligations in substance. What the ordinance would add is a local enforcement path.

The bill text does change who the label duty runs against. State law tells manufacturers and distributors to affix the label. Proposed section 804.901(f) instead reads that electric bicycles “shall display a label which contains its classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage.” That attaches the requirement to the bicycle rather than to whoever built it, which in practice points enforcement at the bike in front of the officer and at the person riding it. A missing or peeled-off label becomes the rider’s problem.

The statute also settles what Jacksonville is allowed to do, and the bill’s own findings cite it. Section 316.20655 expressly preserves local power to adopt an ordinance governing e-bike operation on streets, highways, sidewalks, and sidewalk areas, and subsection (8) lets a local government adopt one or more minimum age requirements to operate an e-bike. The bill’s whereas clauses name sections 316.008 and 316.20655 as its authority. So the sidewalk cap and the under-11 floor sit on ground the city has identified in the text. State law also confirms e-bikes are exempt from driver licensing, registration, title, and financial responsibility requirements, requires the motor to cut out when you stop pedaling or brake, and requires compliance with the federal bicycle standard at 16 CFR part 1512.

One more current-state item, from the Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office social post relayed by both outlets: JSO says e-bikes are limited to 28 mph, that riders under 15 must wear a helmet or receive a citation, and that “e-motorcycles” are not legal, can go much faster than 28 mph, and that parents can be cited if a child is caught riding one. Note the age: JSO’s stated threshold is under 15, while the bill is written at under 16. We did not review Florida’s bicycle helmet statute, so treat the current requirement as JSO’s stated position and confirm it with the agency.


What Ordinance 2026-570 would add

The bill does two things. Section 1 amends section 804.102 (Definitions) of the Jacksonville Traffic Code. Section 2 fills sections 804.901 and 804.902 in Part 9, both of which currently read Reserved, so the city is writing into empty slots rather than rewriting existing e-bike rules. Part 9 itself would be retitled Bicycle and Electric Bicycle Regulations.

The definitions matter more than they look. The bill would define an electric bicycle as a bicycle or tricycle equipped with fully operable pedals, a seat or saddle for the operator, and an electric motor of 750 watts or less, then split that into Class 1 (pedal assist, cuts out at 20 mph), Class 2 (motor may propel the bike on its own, cuts out at 20 mph), and Class 3 (pedal assist, cuts out at 28 mph). It would also define operator as a person riding, driving, or otherwise operating an electric bicycle. Read the pedal clause carefully if you own something fast: a machine without fully operable pedals is not an electric bicycle under this definition, which means Part 9 would not reach it, and that is not the same as it being legal to ride.

Ordinance 2026-570 as introduced: provisions taken from the official bill text

data
ProvisionWhat the bill text saysStatus today
Sidewalk speedOn sidewalks, operators shall not exceed a speed of 10 miles per hourProposed only
Sidewalk passingProvide an audible signal before passing a pedestrian, and pass in a safe manner at a safe distance from the pedestrianProposed only
Pedestrian dutiesComply with all pedestrian traffic signs and intersection signalization, and yield the right-of-way to pedestrians at all timesProposed only
Roadway dutiesOn bicycle lanes, paths, bikeways, rights-of-way and roadways, comply with all traffic regulations including posted speed limitsProposed only
Careless operationCareless, unsafe, and/or reckless operation is unlawful, including but not limited to weaving through traffic, failing to yield to pedestrians where required, operating at an unreasonable speed for existing conditions, and leaving the roadway to avoid traffic signalsProposed only
Minimum ageNo person under 11 years of age may operate an e-bike on any bicycle lane, bicycle path, bikeway, right-of-way, roadway, sidewalk, or other City-owned propertyProposed only
PassengersPassengers are prohibited unless the e-bike is specifically equipped with a designated passenger seat and meets all applicable safety standardsProposed only
HelmetsAn operator or passenger under 16 must wear a properly fitted, securely fastened bicycle helmet on the headProposed. JSO states an under-15 helmet rule applies now
LabelE-bikes shall display a label containing classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattageState law already requires the label, applied by makers and distributors
ModificationMotors shall not be modified to allow a higher speed than the manufacturer designed the bicycle to attainState law already restricts this unless the label is replaced
LightingFront lamp showing a white light visible at least 500 feet to the front, plus a lamp and a reflector on the rear, each showing a red light visible 600 feet to the rear, all on and operational between sunset and sunriseProposed only
PenaltyAny violation of the Part is a civil infraction and constitutes a Class C offenseProposed only
GuardiansNo parent or guardian of a minor child shall authorize or knowingly permit the minor child to violate a provision of the PartProposed only
Effective dateEffective upon signature by the Mayor, or upon becoming effective without the Mayor's signatureApplies only if the council passes it

Three items in that table are worth pulling out, because the news summaries compressed them.

The sidewalk passing rule is two requirements, not one. The bell is the part that got reported. The text also requires passing “in a safe manner at a safe distance from the pedestrian,” which is a judgment standard an officer applies at the scene, not a measurable one you can check yourself before you ride.

The lighting rule is a lamp and a reflector on the rear, not a lamp or a reflector. The front lamp has to show white light visible from at least 500 feet. The rear needs a lamp and a reflector, each showing red visible from 600 feet, and the text adds that all safety lights shall be on and operational between sunset and sunrise. Most bikes ship with a rear lamp or a rear reflector, not both, and a rack or a pannier is the usual reason the reflector goes missing.

The penalty clause is written twice. Section 804.902(a) says any violation of the Part is a civil infraction. Section 804.902(c) says any violation shall constitute a Class C offense. The bill text does not state a dollar figure for a Class C offense, and neither does the legislative summary, so we are not reporting one. The schedule that gives Class C offenses their penalty sits elsewhere in the Ordinance Code, which we did not read for this article.

Section 804.902(b) is the guardian clause: no parent or guardian of a minor child shall authorize or knowingly permit the minor child to violate a provision of the Part. It is written as a freestanding duty on the adult, so it does not depend on the child being cited first, and every rule in Part 9 sits inside its reach.

On timing, section 5 of the bill is short and it removes any grace period. The ordinance would become effective upon signature by the Mayor, or upon becoming effective without the Mayor’s signature. There is no delayed compliance date and no phase-in window in the text. If it passes and gets signed, the lights and the helmets are required that day.

The bill also provides codification instructions and severability, and it carries three committee assignments: NCSPHS, Rules, and TEU. The Research Division summary lists the fiscal impact as no cost to the City. A measure with three committees has three places it can be amended before any final vote, which is a reason to read everything above as the version that was introduced rather than a finished rule.

Boylan has been candid about the hard part. “Enforcement’s not going to be easy,” he told News4JAX. “I get that. But that still doesn’t mean you can’t put it in place.”


The 97 injuries figure, and what it does and does not say

Both outlets report that Wolfson Children’s Hospital said in a recent Facebook post that its trauma center treated 97 children for traumatic e-bike and e-scooter injuries in the first six months of 2026, close to the number treated in all of 2025, and that the trauma center projects it could reach 194 by year end if the trend continues. The hospital wrote: “These aren’t just scrapes and bruises. We’re seeing concussions, facial fractures and traumatic brain injuries.”

That is Wolfson’s reported figure, relayed by News4JAX and Jacksonville Today. It does not appear in the bill or in the legislative summary. RoostMode has not independently verified it, and we have not seen the underlying post or any methodology.

Three things it does not tell you. It combines e-bike and e-scooter injuries, so it does not isolate e-bikes. It counts trauma center presentations at one hospital, not injuries across Duval County. And a raw count says nothing about the number of riders, so it cannot by itself distinguish riding getting more dangerous from more kids riding. The 194 figure is explicitly a straight-line projection, not an outcome.

None of that makes it unimportant. A trauma team seeing concussions and brain injuries in children is a real signal. The bill’s own findings are stated more plainly: a noticeable increase in e-bike operation on city sidewalks and roadways, and enhanced opportunities for crashes with motorists and pedestrians. That is a narrower claim than “e-bike injuries doubled in Jacksonville.”


What to do now

Nothing in the proposal obligates you today. These are the moves that pay off either way.

Buy the helmet now if you have a rider under 16. It is the one item with a plausible near-term requirement from two directions: JSO already states an under-15 rule, and the bill covers operators and passengers under 16, requiring a properly fitted, securely fastened bicycle helmet. A properly fitted helmet is also the only item on the list that changes an injury outcome.

Fix the rear light gap. The bill would require a front lamp visible from 500 feet and both a lamp and a reflector on the rear, each visible from 600 feet, on and operational sunset to sunrise. Check the back of your bike tonight. If a rack, a bag, or a child seat is covering the reflector, that is the cheapest thing on this page to put right, and it is the change most likely to matter on a Jacksonville evening commute regardless of what council does.

Check whether your bike is built to carry a passenger. The bill would prohibit passengers unless the e-bike is specifically equipped with a designated passenger seat and meets all applicable safety standards. Two riders sharing one saddle is the pattern that language is written against. If you are shopping for a bike meant to carry a second person, a purpose-built passenger seat is the feature to look for. The bill does not name which safety standards it means, which is a fair thing to ask the council office about before the hearing.

Check the label before you shop, not after. The classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage are already supposed to be permanently affixed, and the ordinance would make displaying that label a duty attached to the bicycle. If a bike you are considering has no label, treat that as a real strike. Our guide to e-bike classes 1, 2, and 3 explains what the class actually means and where labeling tends to be unreliable.

Do not derestrict, and be careful buying used. Changing a bike’s assist speed without replacing the classification label is already restricted under state law, and the ordinance would separately bar modifying the motor for a higher speed than the manufacturer designed. A used bike sold as “unlocked” carries both problems to you.

If you are buying locally, a shop can confirm the class label, check the rear lamp and reflector, and fit a helmet properly. Our Jacksonville dealer listings are a place to start.

How to track the bill

Watch the Legistar page for File 2026-0570 rather than news coverage. The status field, the history tab, and the attached documents update there first, and the attachments are where the actual text lives. Both attachments are linked in our Sources below.

One search snag: the file number is 2026-0570, but the bill document and the news coverage both use 2026-570. Try both. The next dated milestone on the record is the public hearing set for August 11, 2026, and the committee notes list second readings and re-referral at Rules and NCSPHS on August 3. The thing to watch in any amended version is whether section 5 still reads the way it does now, because as introduced the ordinance takes effect on the Mayor’s signature with no grace period.

Boylan told both outlets that local lawmakers went back to the drawing board after Governor Ron DeSantis vetoed e-bike legislation that had passed the Florida Legislature unanimously, citing concerns about government overreach and law enforcement surveillance. That account does not appear in the bill or the legislative summary, we could not connect the veto to a specific bill from the sources we read, and the statute we did read records an amendment in 2025, so treat the veto account as Boylan’s characterization rather than an established chronology.

For the wider picture, our e-bike laws by state guide covers the state framework underneath city rules, and Kansas City’s ordinance shows what one of these looks like after it passes.

FAQ

+Is the 10 mph sidewalk limit in effect in Jacksonville right now?
No. As of our check of the city's Legistar record on August 3, 2026, Ordinance 2026-0570 has a status of In Committee, was introduced on July 28, 2026, appears on the August 3 agenda, and has a public hearing scheduled for August 11, 2026. Its history lists two rows, and the only one with a recorded result is the July 28 introduction and assignment to committees, marked Pass. A proposal in committee imposes no obligation on riders. The 10 mph sidewalk cap, the under-11 age floor, the under-16 helmet requirement, the passenger restriction, and the lighting rule would all apply only if the council passes the ordinance. Section 5 of the bill as introduced says it becomes effective upon signature by the Mayor, or upon becoming effective without the Mayor's signature, so there is no delayed compliance date written into the current text.
+When would the new rules actually start if the council passes them?
Immediately on the Mayor's action. Section 5 of the bill text reads that the ordinance shall become effective upon signature by the Mayor or upon becoming effective without the Mayor's signature. There is no phase-in period, no warning window, and no separate compliance date anywhere in the text. That is one reason the lighting and helmet items are worth handling before any vote rather than after it. Committees can amend a bill, so the effective date clause could change before a final vote, but that is what the introduced version says.
+What exactly would the lighting rule require?
Proposed section 804.901(h) requires every electric bicycle operated between sunset and sunrise to have a lamp on the front showing a white light visible from at least 500 feet to the front, and a lamp and a reflector on the rear, each showing a red light visible from 600 feet to the rear. It adds that all safety lights shall be on and operational between sunset and sunrise. The rear is the part people miss, because the text requires a lamp and a reflector rather than one or the other, and many bikes leave the factory with only one of the two or lose the reflector to a rack or a seat post bag.
+Could I still carry my kid on the back of my e-bike?
Only on a bike built for it, under the proposal. Section 804.901(d) says passengers are prohibited on electric bicycles unless the electric bicycle is specifically equipped with a designated passenger seat and meets all applicable safety standards. The bill does not identify which safety standards it means, so that is a question for the council office or the hearing. Note also that the helmet provision covers passengers as well as operators under 16, and that this is a proposal, not a rule in force today.
+What counts as careless or reckless operation?
Section 804.901(b) makes it unlawful to operate an electric bicycle in a bicycle lane, bicycle path, bikeway, right-of-way, roadway, or sidewalk in a careless, unsafe, and/or reckless manner. The text gives four examples and says the list is not limited to them: weaving through traffic, failing to yield to pedestrians where required, operating at an unreasonable speed for existing conditions, and leaving the roadway to avoid traffic signals. Because the list is open-ended and the standard is a judgment call, this is the provision most likely to be applied at an officer's discretion rather than measured. Whether any of it is validly drawn is a legal question we are not answering.
+Does my kid need a helmet in Jacksonville today?
The Jacksonville Sheriff's Office said in a social media post relayed by News4JAX and Jacksonville Today that people under the age of 15 must wear a helmet or they will receive a citation, and that helmets are recommended for everyone. The proposed ordinance would require operators and passengers under 16 to wear a properly fitted, securely fastened bicycle helmet, which is a different age. We did not review Florida's bicycle helmet statute for this article, so we are not stating the current legal threshold ourselves. Confirm it with JSO or the city. Practically, the disagreement is not worth waiting out: a properly fitted helmet is the single item on this list that changes what happens in a crash, and it costs less than most of the accessories on a new build.
+Is the label requirement actually new?
Not in substance, but it changes who carries the duty. Section 316.20655(3), Florida Statutes, has required since January 1, 2021 that manufacturers and distributors apply a permanently affixed label in a prominent location on each electric bicycle showing the classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage. Subsection (4) already prohibits tampering with or modifying an e-bike to change its motor-powered speed capability or engagement unless the classification label is replaced after the modification. The bill's section 804.901(f) says electric bicycles shall display a label containing classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage, which attaches the requirement to the bicycle rather than to the manufacturer. In practice that shifts the exposure toward whoever is riding a bike with a missing label.
+Can Jacksonville legally set an age limit and a sidewalk speed limit for e-bikes?
State law appears to contemplate both, and the bill's whereas clauses cite it. Section 316.20655(1) says the section may not be construed to prevent a local government, through its powers under section 316.008, from adopting an ordinance governing the operation of electric bicycles on streets, highways, sidewalks, and sidewalk areas within its jurisdiction. Subsection (8) says a local government may adopt an ordinance providing one or more minimum age requirements to operate an electric bicycle, and may require an operator to carry government-issued photo identification. The statute also lets an authority with jurisdiction over a bicycle path, multiuse path, or trail network restrict or prohibit e-bikes there. Whether any specific provision of this bill is validly drawn is a legal question we are not answering.
+How reliable is the 97 child injuries number?
It is Wolfson Children's Hospital's reported figure, published in a Facebook post and relayed by News4JAX and Jacksonville Today. It does not appear in the bill or the legislative summary. RoostMode has not independently verified it and has not seen the post or any methodology. Read the scope carefully: it counts children treated at one hospital's trauma center for traumatic e-bike and e-scooter injuries combined during the first six months of 2026, so it does not isolate e-bikes and does not cover all injuries in Duval County. The 194 figure is the trauma center's straight-line projection if the trend continues, not a result. Because the count is not paired with any measure of how many kids are riding, it cannot on its own separate riding becoming more dangerous from more riders being on the road.
+What happens to parents if a kid breaks the proposed rules?
Section 804.902(b) of the bill says no parent or guardian of a minor child shall authorize or knowingly permit the minor child to violate a provision of the Part. It is written as a duty on the adult in its own right, and it reaches every rule in Part 9, including the under-11 operating ban, the helmet requirement, and the passenger restriction. Section 804.902(a) makes any violation of the Part a civil infraction, and section 804.902(c) says any violation shall constitute a Class C offense. The bill text does not state a dollar amount for a Class C offense and neither does the legislative summary, so we are not reporting one, and the text does not describe a warning step before a citation. Separately, JSO said in its post that parents can be cited if a child is caught riding an e-motorcycle. All of the ordinance provisions here are proposed, not in force.
+Should I hold off on buying an e-bike until this is settled?
There is no purchase this bill obviously blocks, but three shopping decisions get sharper. First, buy something with an intact manufacturer label showing class, top assisted speed, and wattage, because both the existing statute and the proposal key off that label. Second, if a second rider is part of the plan, look for a bike with a designated passenger seat, since the proposal would bar passengers on bikes not equipped with one. Third, be honest about whether the machine you want is an e-bike at all. The bill defines an electric bicycle as a bicycle or tricycle with fully operable pedals, a seat or saddle, and a motor of 750 watts or less, and a throttle-only vehicle without working pedals falls outside that, which is also where the licensing and registration exemptions in state law stop applying. If the rider will be a child, note that the proposal would bar anyone under 11 from operating on city sidewalks, bike lanes, paths, rights-of-way, roadways, and other city-owned property, which is close to everywhere a kid would actually ride.

Sources

  • Ordinance 2026-570, original bill text (City of Jacksonville Legistar attachment), the official bill as introduced and our primary source for every provision described above: the amended definitions in section 804.102 including electric bicycle, the three classes, and operator; the proposed section 804.901 covering permitted riding surfaces, the 10 mph sidewalk cap, pedestrian signs and signalization, yielding to pedestrians at all times, the audible signal plus passing in a safe manner at a safe distance, careless, unsafe, and/or reckless operation with its four listed examples, the under-11 operating ban, the passenger prohibition absent a designated passenger seat meeting applicable safety standards, the under-16 helmet requirement for operators and passengers, the label display requirement, the motor modification prohibition, and the lighting requirement of a front white lamp visible 500 feet with a rear lamp and reflector each visible 600 feet, all operational sunset to sunrise; the proposed section 804.902 covering the civil infraction, the parent and guardian prohibition, and the Class C offense designation; the whereas clauses citing sections 316.008 and 316.20655, Florida Statutes; severability; codification instructions; and the effective date on signature by the Mayor or on becoming effective without the Mayor’s signature. The bill text states no dollar amount for a Class C offense, so we report none.
  • Ordinance 2026-570 legislative summary (City Council Research Division, via Legistar attachment), the official staff summary and our source for the bill type and number, the sponsor, the July 28, 2026 introduction date, the committees of reference NCSPHS, R, and TEU, the type of action as an Ordinance Code amendment, the background statement on increased e-bike operation and local authority under Florida law, the policy impact area, and the fiscal impact recorded as no cost to the City.
  • Legislation detail for File 2026-0570 (City of Jacksonville Legistar), the official record and our source for the file number, the type Ordinance, the status In Committee, the August 3, 2026 agenda placement, the August 11, 2026 public hearing scheduled under Chapter 166, Florida Statutes and Council Rule 3.601, the introducer Michael Boylan, and the history rows showing the July 28 introduction and committee assignment marked Pass with no result recorded for the August 3 Rules Committee row.
  • Section 316.20655, Florida Statutes, Electric bicycle regulations (The Florida Senate, 2025 Florida Statutes), the official statute text and our source for what already applies statewide: the rights and duties of a bicycle operator, the exemption from financial responsibility, licensing, registration, and title requirements, the manufacturer and distributor label requirement effective January 1, 2021, the anti-tampering provision, the 16 CFR part 1512 compliance requirement, the motor disengagement requirement, and the preserved local authority over sidewalk operation and minimum age requirements. History notes list amendments in 2020, 2021, and 2025.
  • Jacksonville to consider tighter e-bike rules as injuries rise and back-to-school nears (News4JAX, published July 30, 2026, updated July 31, 2026), the originating report and our source for material not found in the official documents: the Boylan quotes, the Wolfson Children’s Hospital figures and quote, the Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office statements on the 28 mph limit, the under-15 helmet citation, and e-motorcycles, and Boylan’s account of the vetoed state legislation.
  • Jacksonville considers tighter e-bike rules as injuries rise and school nears (Jacksonville Today, July 31, 2026), the same story republished by Jacksonville Today, which identifies News4JAX as a news partner and credits it as the producer. We used it to confirm that the provision list, the Wolfson figures, and the quotes appear identically in both outlets. It is a republication rather than independent corroboration, so it does not add a second reporting source for those facts.
  • Hero image: the e-bike photograph accompanying the source reports, credited in the Jacksonville Today caption to News4JAX. RoostMode modifications: cropped and optimized. It shows a folding-style electric bicycle with a front hub motor and a rear rack mounted battery parked on grass. The caption presents it as an example of the kind of bike the proposal would cover, not as a photograph of Jacksonville, of any location named in this article, or of any person or enforcement action described here. We are not identifying the photographer, the bike’s brand, or the location, because none is established by the image or the accompanying text.

Read next

Affiliate Disclosure: Some links on this page may earn us a small commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we'd use ourselves. This helps us keep producing detailed guides. Full disclosure →