RoostModeRoostMode
A Lectric XPress 2 e-bike, from the header photography Electrek published alongside its report on Lectric's $1 billion sales milestone
News

Lectric Says It Just Crossed $1 Billion in Sales. Here Is What That Actually Proves

By RoostMode Team•

Lectric eBikes says it hit $1 billion in Shopify sales and its 750,000th unit on the same day. What Electrek reports, and what is only a company claim.

Lectric eBikes says it passed $1 billion in sales on its e-commerce platform and sold its 750,000th electric bicycle on the same day. Electrek reports both numbers, and Electrek’s evidence for them is a pair of screenshots of a social media post from Lectric co-founder and CEO Levi Conlow. That is the whole chain: a company founder posted a number, and a publication relayed it. RoostMode has not independently audited Lectric’s sales or revenue figures, and neither, as far as the published piece shows, has Electrek.

That is not an accusation that the number is wrong. Electrek itself opens its report by calling Lectric the largest electric bicycle company in the US, and a billion dollars in cumulative e-commerce revenue for a seven-year-old direct-to-consumer brand is plausible on its face. It is a statement about what kind of evidence you are looking at. A founder’s social post is marketing communication. It is not a filed financial statement, and nothing in Electrek’s report says Lectric is obligated to produce one.

What Electrek’s Own Reporting Actually Establishes

Set the billion-dollar headline aside for a moment. The more durable part of this story is the history Electrek has been reporting on for years, not the one number from a screenshot. Lectric started in 2019 with the $899 Lectric XP, and its bootstrapped founders reportedly reduced supplier costs as volume grew rather than raising prices to fatten margins. Electrek’s own 2021 reporting put Lectric past 100,000 e-bikes sold within two years of launch. That is a company Electrek has tracked in real time across multiple stories, not a figure that appeared once in a press release.

That history matters for a different reason than the billion-dollar number does. It is the basis for treating Lectric as an established, high-volume seller rather than a brand-new entrant, independent of whatever today’s exact revenue total is. Scale built over seven years of documented product launches is a different kind of claim than a single social post about cumulative sales.

What is confirmed, what is claimed, and by whom

data
FigureWhat the source saysAttribution
$1 billion cumulative salesShopify-only revenue since launch, reached according to a CEO social post. Excludes Best Buy and other retail channels.Levi Conlow, via Electrek
750,000th e-bike soldUnit milestone, reported as reached the same day as the sales figure. No methodology or return/cancellation handling stated.Levi Conlow, via Electrek
$899 Lectric XP launch, 2019Company founding product and price pointElectrek's own historical reporting
100,000+ e-bikes sold within two yearsEarlier growth milestone, reported by Electrek at the time it happenedElectrek (2021)
Juiced Bikes acquisition and relaunchLectric bought the defunct Juiced brand and launched Scrambler models under itElectrek's own reporting
Juiced Powersports and Monarc launchesTwo additional new brands from Lectric in the same year, higher-power e-motos and an upmarket e-bike lineElectrek's own reporting
Profit, margin, total company revenueNot stated anywhere in the sourceNot reported

The Billion-Dollar Number Is Narrower Than It Sounds, In Both Directions

Electrek’s report includes a detail that cuts against reading the headline number too literally: the $1 billion figure comes purely from Shopify, Lectric’s main direct-to-consumer sales channel, and does not include sales through Best Buy or the other retail channels the company has opened. That means the true total revenue figure, if Lectric ever published one, would likely be higher than $1 billion, not lower.

It also means the number that made the headline is a slice of the business, not the whole of it, and it is a slice the company chose to disclose. There is nothing wrong with a company picking which number to share. It is worth noticing when reading a milestone announcement, because “$1 billion in sales” and “$1 billion in total company revenue” are not the same claim, and only the narrower one is what Electrek’s report actually supports.

Why This Matters If You Are Shopping Lectric, Juiced, or Monarc

The buyer-relevant part of this story is not the exact dollar figure. It is what a company’s reported scale, self-reported or not, can and cannot tell a shopper. RoostMode’s Juiced Scrambler coverage already flagged the open question of what Lectric’s ownership of the relaunched Juiced brand means for warranty claims and service. This milestone announcement is Lectric describing itself as a high-volume seller, a data point on company scale, not a read on financial health, for anyone weighing a Juiced Scrambler, a Lectric XPress 2, or the newer Monarc line against a smaller competitor.

A self-reported number is not a confirmed one. A billion-dollar claim from a company’s own founder tells you the story the company wants told. It does not tell you the margin on that revenue, how much of it came from discounting to hit a round number, or whether the three new brands launched this year are profitable additions or expensive bets. Electrek’s report does not answer any of those questions, and neither can this one.

That context is also useful for reading RoostMode’s other Lectric coverage with the right frame. Our Lectric XPress 2 buyer takeaways and Lectric XP4 buyer takeaways are about specific products reviewed by other publications, not about the company’s finances. This article is the reverse: it is about the company, not about how any particular Lectric bike rides.

The Growth Story, According to Electrek

Electrek’s account of how Lectric got here is worth reading on its own terms, separate from the billion-dollar figure. The company started as what Electrek describes as an apartment living room startup from a group of college friends, bootstrapped by Levi Conlow and Robby Deziel without venture capital. The strategy Electrek describes was affordability first: launch a bike cheap enough to move volume, then use that volume to negotiate better terms with suppliers instead of raising retail prices. Electrek’s own reporting credits that loop, plus a broad model lineup and a focus on local customer support, with pushing Lectric past 100,000 units sold within two years of the XP’s 2019 launch.

This year, per Electrek’s own separate reporting, Lectric extended that playbook to three new brands rather than just the core Lectric line: it acquired the collapsed Juiced Bikes brand and relaunched it with Scrambler models, opened a higher-power Juiced Powersports division, and launched an upmarket line called Monarc aimed at riders willing to pay more for better components. Electrek frames all three as following the same pattern Lectric used on itself, higher-value builds at prices that undercut competitors. That is Electrek’s characterization of the strategy, not a verified claim about margins or component sourcing on any of the three new brands, and RoostMode has not reviewed products from Juiced Powersports or Monarc.

What Still Is Not Known

A handful of real questions sit underneath the headline number, and Electrek’s report does not answer them:

  • Total company revenue. The $1 billion figure is Shopify only. Best Buy and other retail channels are excluded, and no combined total is published.
  • Profit or margin. Nothing in the source states whether Lectric is profitable or what its margins look like at this scale.
  • Per-brand breakdown. There is no published split showing how much of the $1 billion belongs to the core Lectric line versus Juiced, Juiced Powersports, or Monarc.
  • Unit-count methodology. The 750,000-unit figure is not explained in terms of how returns, cancellations, or replacement units under warranty are counted.
  • Independent verification. Electrek’s report cites no audited statement, filing, or third-party confirmation behind either number, and RoostMode has not independently verified them either.

None of that means the milestone is false. It means the milestone, as reported, is a company’s own characterization of its own business, relayed by a publication that did not audit it, and neither has RoostMode.

FAQ

FAQ

+Did Lectric really hit $1 billion in sales?
Electrek reports that Lectric's co-founder and CEO, Levi Conlow, said so in a social media post, and the figure is specifically cumulative Shopify sales rather than total company revenue. Electrek's report does not cite any audited financial statement behind the figure, and neither Electrek's report nor this article independently verifies the number. Treat it as a company-reported milestone, not a confirmed financial disclosure.
+Is the 750,000 e-bikes figure independently verified?
No. Like the sales figure, it traces back to the same CEO social media post that Electrek reports on, and no methodology, such as how returns or warranty replacements are counted, is described in the source. RoostMode has not audited this figure either.
+Does the $1 billion figure include all of Lectric's sales?
No. Electrek's report states the figure comes purely from Shopify, Lectric's main direct-to-consumer channel, and excludes sales through Best Buy and the company's other retail channels. That means total company revenue, if it were ever disclosed, would likely be higher than the reported figure, not lower.
+What does this mean for buyers of the Juiced Scrambler or Monarc?
It is one data point on the reported scale of Lectric, which now owns the relaunched Juiced brand and operates Juiced Powersports and Monarc. It is not proof of profitability or of how a warranty claim would be handled, and it says nothing about how service and parts are shared, or not, across the different brands. Ask a dealer or the brand's own support channel those specific questions before buying.
+Is Lectric a publicly traded company?
The source does not state that. Electrek's report describes Lectric as bootstrapped by its founders without venture capital, and separately notes that e-bike companies are nearly all privately owned and keep sales figures close to the vest, which is part of why a milestone shared through a founder's social post cannot be checked against a public filing.
+Should this news change which e-bike brand someone buys?
By itself, no. A self-reported sales milestone is a reasonable signal of scale, but it says nothing about a specific bike's components, service network responsiveness, or warranty terms. Those are questions to verify directly with a dealer or the brand, independent of how large the company says it has become.

Sources

  • Lectric eBikes hits $1 billion in sales, surpasses 750,000 e-bikes (Electrek, Micah Toll, July 31, 2026), the source for every factual claim in this article: that Lectric eBikes says it passed $1 billion in cumulative sales on its e-commerce platform and sold its 750,000th e-bike on the same day, with both figures relayed from a social media post by co-founder and CEO Levi Conlow, illustrated in the source by screenshots of that post; that the $1 billion figure comes purely from Shopify and excludes sales from Best Buy and Lectric’s other retail channels; the company’s founding by Levi Conlow and Robby Deziel as a bootstrapped operation without venture capital; the 2019 launch of the $899 Lectric XP; Electrek’s own earlier reporting that Lectric passed 100,000 e-bikes sold within two years; the strategy of using growing volume to reduce supplier costs rather than raise prices; and Electrek’s own separate reporting, linked within this story, on Lectric’s acquisition and relaunch of the Juiced Bikes brand with Scrambler models, the opening of a Juiced Powersports division, and the launch of the Monarc brand. The source body reviewed gives no profit or margin figure, no combined total revenue across all sales channels, no per-brand revenue breakdown, and no explanation of how the 750,000-unit figure is counted, which is why none of those appear above. Electrek discloses that it uses auto-affiliate income-earning links; RoostMode links only to the editorial article and uses none of its affiliate redirects. RoostMode has not independently audited Lectric’s sales or revenue figures. The source was loaded directly and verified on August 1, 2026.
  • Hero image: lectric-xpress2-header.jpg, the header photography published with Electrek’s report. It is source editorial photography, not AI-generated art and not a photo RoostMode produced or a bike RoostMode has seen or ridden. The article does not credit an individual staff photographer for this image, so no personal photo credit is claimed here beyond Electrek. Modifications by RoostMode: center-cropped to a 16:9 aspect ratio and optimized for web delivery as WebP.

Read next

Affiliate Disclosure: Some links on this page may earn us a small commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we'd use ourselves. This helps us keep producing detailed guides. Full disclosure →