Zero Motorcycles has announced that DC fast charging is coming to its electric motorcycles in 2027, Electrek reported on September 2. Zero said some street and dual-sport models are involved, and Electrek reports that some bikes going back to model year 2022 may be upgradeable. That is close to the full extent of what has been confirmed.
Zero has not said which models get it, what connector or charging standard it will use, how much power the bikes can accept, what it will cost, or how any retrofit would work. RoostMode has not tested the system, because it is not yet available. This article explains why the announcement matters for a Zero rider and lays out the questions you should wait to see answered before you make a buying decision around it.
Where Zero charging stands today
Zero’s own charging page, as of September 2, describes Level 2 charging over a J1772 connector as the most common option for its bikes. The page says current bikes charge in about four hours, or can be upgraded to charge in about one hour, depending on the model and the charging upgrade fitted. The same page states plainly that Level 3, meaning DC fast charging, is not yet available for Zero Motorcycles.
Electrek’s report gives a concrete example of what that AC-only setup looks like at the top of the range. Per Electrek, the SR/F ships with a 6.6 kW onboard charger and can be fitted with an optional 12.6 kW Rapid Charging Module, which Electrek says brings a near-full charge in around 90 minutes. Treat that as Electrek’s description of one model with one upgrade, not a figure that applies across the lineup.
Two things follow from that. First, the SR/F example shows that faster current charging may require optional hardware. Second, Zero’s current charging page says its motorcycles do not yet support Level 3 DC fast charging, so the announcement could open a different public-charging option once Zero publishes the model and connector details.
Why DC fast charging matters, and why the benefit is not yet measurable
Electrek’s explanation of the upside is straightforward: DC fast charging can reduce stops on longer trips. For a motorcycle that currently tops out at Level 2 speeds, that is the feature most likely to change whether a weekend ride or a multi-day tour is practical without planning your day around the charger.
Electrek is also careful to say that the actual impact on buyers cannot be quantified until Zero publishes the details. We agree, and we would put it more bluntly. Fast charging is only as good as the peak power the bike can take, the size of the battery being filled, the connector you can find on the road, and the price of getting the hardware on your bike. Zero has published none of those numbers for this system, so any charge-time claim you see attached to this announcement is a guess.
What is confirmed versus what is not
| Question | Status as of September 2, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Is DC fast charging coming to Zero? | Confirmed by Zero, per Electrek |
| When? | 2027, per Zero |
| Which models? | Not specified. Zero said some street and dual-sport models are involved |
| Connector or charging standard | Not specified |
| Peak charging power | Not specified |
| Pricing | Not specified |
| Retrofit for existing bikes | Electrek reports some models back to model year 2022 may be upgradeable. Compatibility details are not published |
| Charge time on DC | Not published |
If a dealer, forum post, or listing tells you something more specific than the right-hand column, ask where it came from. As of this writing, Zero has not put those details in public.
The questions to wait for
These are the details that turn a headline into a buying decision. None of them are answered yet.
Which models, exactly. “Some street and dual-sport models” leaves out a lot. Zero sells bikes with battery sizes its charging page lists as ranging from 3.6 kWh to 17.3 kWh, and the page directs riders to each product’s spec table for model-specific figures. A fast charging system that reaches the biggest packs is a touring story. One limited to smaller packs is a different product.
Which connector and standard. This determines which public fast chargers you can actually plug into and whether any adapters are supported. Zero has said nothing on this point.
Peak charging power. The kilowatt figure the bike can accept sets the real-world charge time far more than the rating on the station. Zero has not published a number, so there is no honest way to estimate a stop length yet.
Retrofit terms for current owners. Electrek reports that some bikes back to model year 2022 may be upgradeable. Zero has not published which models, which years, what the upgrade involves, or what it costs. Do not assume your existing bike qualifies until Zero says so in writing.
Pricing. Whether DC fast charging is standard on new bikes, an optional module like the current Rapid Charging Module, or a dealer-installed retrofit, the price is unknown.
Warranty and battery terms. Zero has not said anything about how fast charging interacts with battery warranty coverage. That is our question, not a reported concern, and it belongs on your list for the dealer when details arrive.
If you are shopping for a Zero right now
Zero’s announcement does not change what is on the showroom floor today, but it does change how you should think about the purchase. Three rules of thumb:
- Do not buy a 2026 bike on the assumption it will be upgraded. Electrek’s report says some bikes may be upgradeable, and Zero has published no compatibility list. If retrofit eligibility matters to you, get a written answer from Zero or your dealer, and expect that answer to be “not yet known.”
- Decide how much long-distance riding you actually do. If most of your miles are commuting and charging happens at home overnight, DC fast charging changes little for you, and there is no strong reason to wait. If you are buying specifically to tour, the honest answer is that the product you want has not been fully described yet.
- Price the current Level 2 upgrade path against waiting. Zero’s page says a charging upgrade can bring current bikes down to about one hour, depending on model. For some riders that is fast enough to buy now. For others, a 2027 model with DC capability is worth the wait, but only once Zero publishes the power and pricing that make the comparison possible.
If you want to talk through the options in person, our dealer directory lists e-bike and e-moto shops by state and province across the US and Canada. Ask any Zero dealer directly what the factory has told them about 2027 models and retrofits, and treat anything beyond the confirmed list above as unofficial.
If you already own a Zero
The most useful thing you can do is nothing yet. Electrek’s reporting leaves open the possibility that bikes as far back as model year 2022 could be upgraded, which is more encouraging than a clean break with older hardware. But there is no published list, no procedure, and no price. Registering interest with your dealer costs nothing. Spending money on the assumption of a retrofit does.
One more caution that applies before and after fast charging arrives: Zero’s own page warns that real-world range varies with speed, rider and cargo weight, wind, incline, tire pressure, and other conditions. Faster charging shortens stops. It does not extend the distance between them.
FAQ
FAQ
+When will Zero Motorcycles get DC fast charging?
+Which Zero models will support DC fast charging?
+Will my existing Zero be upgradeable to DC fast charging?
+How fast will a Zero charge on a DC fast charger?
+How do Zero motorcycles charge today?
+Has RoostMode tested Zero's DC fast charging?
Sources
- Electrek: Zero will soon add the main feature its electric motorcycles have always lacked (September 2, 2026). Source for the 2027 timing, the street and dual-sport scope, the possible upgrade path for bikes back to model year 2022, the SR/F charging example, and the list of details Zero has not published.
- Zero Motorcycles: Charging and Range (accessed September 2, 2026). Source for current Level 2 and J1772 charging, the roughly four-hour and roughly one-hour charge figures, the statement that Level 3 DC fast charging is not yet available, the 3.6 kWh to 17.3 kWh battery size range, and the range disclaimer.
- Hero image: Electrek article photograph, used for editorial coverage of the story.
Read next
Honda's First Full-Size Electric Motorcycle, the WN7, Lands in European Dealers
Honda's WN7 lists DC fast charging in Europe, with no US plans announced yet.
LiveWire Q2 2026 Results: A Buyer's Read
How to read an electric motorcycle maker's finances before you commit to its ecosystem.
E-Bike and E-Moto Dealer Directory
Find shops by state or province to ask about 2027 models and retrofit plans in person.

