RoostModeRoostMode
Segway MAX G3 Plus commuter electric scooter shown in a Segway product image released with the announcement, not a RoostMode photograph
News

Segway MAX G3 Plus Preorder: What the Bigger Battery and New Range Math Actually Mean

By RoostMode Team•

Segway's MAX G3 Plus commuter scooter is up for preorder with a 717 Wh battery, a 56-mile low-power range claim under a revised test, and new ICBS braking.

Segway opened preorders on the MAX G3 Plus on August 4, 2026, and the pitch is a bigger battery, a friendlier braking system, and a range number the company says is measured more honestly than before. That last part is the detail worth slowing down for.

Electrek’s Micah Toll covered the launch, and the report is a straightforward manufacturer briefing rather than a ridden review. Every spec below comes from that coverage and, through it, from Segway. RoostMode has not tested or ridden the MAX G3 Plus.

What Segway Announced

Segway MAX G3 Plus, as reported by Electrek on August 4, 2026

data
ItemAs reportedWhat that is worth to a buyer
Battery717 Wh, a 20% increase over the outgoing MAX G3Reported by Electrek/Segway claim. The higher battery capacity is what supports the range claim below
Claimed rangeUp to 56 miles in the lowest power mode, under Segway's revised testing methodManufacturer claim, not an observed result. See the range section below before you compare it to any other scooter's spec sheet
Top speed28 mph (45 km/h)Reported by Electrek/Segway claim, unchanged from the outgoing MAX G3
Peak motor output2,200 wattsReported by Electrek/Segway claim
Weight55.6 lb (25.2 kg)Reported by Electrek/Segway claim. Worth testing against your own stairs, elevator, or transit routine before you buy
Payload rating286 lbReported by Electrek/Segway claim
BrakingNew Intelligent Combined Braking System (ICBS), blending regenerative braking with mechanical disc brakes, plus anti-lock braking and traction controlReported by Electrek/Segway claim. No independent stopping-distance data exists yet
Tires and suspension11-inch self-sealing tires, dual hydraulic suspension with adjustable rear dampingReported by Electrek/Segway claim, untested on real roads by us
ChargingFlashCharge, around 4 hours full charge, or about 3 hours using dual charging cablesReported by Electrek/Segway claim. The 3-hour figure requires the dual-cable setup, not the standard single charger
Pricing$1,149.99 introductory price, rising to a $1,499.99 MSRPReported by Electrek/Segway claim. The timing of the price increase was not specified
AvailabilityPreorder open now in the US; shipping begins August 25 via Segway's site, Best Buy, and AmazonReported by Electrek/Segway claim, for the US only. No word on other markets

The rest of the upgrade list is real but secondary to the two things that actually change how the scooter rides day to day: the battery, and how Segway now measures what that battery gets you.


The 56-Mile Claim Comes From a New Testing Method, Not a Bigger Number Alone

Segway says the MAX G3 Plus is the first of its scooters tested under a new range methodology, and the change is more consequential than the headline number.

Previously, Segway calculated maximum range by running a scooter until the battery was fully depleted, including the final stretch where a scooter has already slowed down noticeably because battery voltage has dropped. The new method stops the clock earlier: it measures range until the scooter can no longer hold at least 60% of the selected riding mode’s top speed. In other words, it counts range only while the scooter is still riding close to how it rode when the battery was full, rather than counting the slow, dragging final miles.

That is a more conservative number by design, and Segway is explicit that it produces a more realistic estimate of usable range. Here is the part that matters for comparison shopping: Segway says the MAX G3 Plus is officially rated for six more miles than the outgoing MAX G3. But because the two scooters were rated under different methods, the company also says that if both scooters had been tested under the identical new standard, the gap would show up as roughly 12 miles instead of six. That implies the underlying hardware improvement is larger than the headline “six more miles” suggests, but it also means the 56-mile figure is not directly comparable to the old MAX G3’s spec sheet, or to any other scooter’s range claim that was measured the old way, or the industry’s usual way, of running to full depletion.

Electrek’s report also paired the 56-mile figure with a parenthetical kilometer conversion that does not check out under standard unit math, so we are not repeating that number here. Treat 56 miles as the figure Segway published, not as a value confirmed by a second, independent conversion.


Weight and Portability

At 55.6 lb (25.2 kg), the MAX G3 Plus is not a scooter you carry up a walk-up apartment building without effort. Electrek frames that weight as fairly typical for a high-performance commuter scooter packing a battery this large. If stairs, an elevator, or a daily transit commute are part of your routine, 55.6 lb is the number to test against that reality before you buy.

The 286 lb payload rating is worth noting if you are near the upper end of a scooter’s usual weight allowance.

Electrek’s report did not include folded dimensions, deck length, or handlebar height, so if portability on stairs, transit, or a car trunk matters to your daily use, those are questions to put to Segway directly rather than assumptions to make from the weight figure alone.


Braking and Tires

The braking story is the other real upgrade here. Segway’s new Intelligent Combined Braking System (ICBS) blends regenerative braking with the mechanical disc brakes, which Segway says improves braking performance while recovering energy and reducing wear on the physical brake pads. That sits alongside anti-lock braking and traction control, plus redesigned brake levers and optimized reflector placement for visibility. Electrek’s report does not say whether anti-lock braking and traction control are new to this model or carried over from the outgoing MAX G3, so only ICBS is reported as a new addition.

On the rolling stock side, the MAX G3 Plus gets 11-inch self-sealing tires and dual hydraulic suspension with adjustable rear damping. Segway also added dedicated rear turn signals alongside the existing handlebar indicators, automatic headlights with high and low beams, a 2.4-inch TFT display with navigation, and Apple Find My compatibility.

None of this has been independently tested for stopping distance, wet-weather grip, or long-term brake wear. It is a strong spec sheet. It is not yet a verified riding result.


Preorder Terms and Shipping Date

The MAX G3 Plus is available for preorder now in the US. Segway lists an introductory price of $1,149.99, which the company says will eventually rise to a $1,499.99 MSRP, though Electrek’s report does not say when that increase takes effect. Shipping is scheduled to begin in the US on August 25, through Segway’s own online store as well as retailers including Best Buy and Amazon.

What the announcement does not cover: payment and refund terms, whether the preorder price is locked in at the moment you order or only for orders placed before some unstated cutoff, and availability outside the US. Electrek’s report does not say whether the preorder requires a deposit or full payment, or when payment is collected. Those gaps are normal for a same-day preorder announcement, but they are exactly the terms worth confirming before you place an order.


Questions to Verify Before You Buy

What to confirm with Segway or a retailer before preordering

data
CheckWhat to askWhy it matters
Range by power modeRange figures for medium and high power settings, not just the lowest-power maximumThe 56-mile claim only applies to the setting fewest riders actually use day to day
Range testing detailHow the 60%-of-top-speed cutoff was measured, and under what rider weight, terrain, and temperatureSegway's own numbers are not directly comparable to scooters tested by the old full-depletion method
Preorder termsWhether payment is due now or later, whether it is refundable, and whether the $1,149.99 price is locked for your orderPayment timing and price-lock terms were not addressed in the launch report
Ship date reliabilityWhat happens to your order if the August 25 date slipsA preorder date is a target, not a guarantee
Braking in real conditionsIndependent stopping-distance or wet-weather testing of ICBS, once availableThe braking claims are from Segway, with no third-party verification yet
Folded size and portabilityFolded dimensions and whether it fits your storage, elevator, or trunkNot published in the source report despite the weight and payload figures being reported
Warranty and local serviceWarranty term and whether authorized service is available near youNot addressed in the launch announcement

FAQ

+How far will the Segway MAX G3 Plus actually go?
Segway claims up to 56 miles, but that is a manufacturer figure measured in the scooter's lowest power setting under a newly revised testing method, not an observed or independently verified result. Electrek's own analysis notes that most riders use higher power modes most of the time, where real-world range is typically meaningfully lower than the maximum claim. Segway has not published range figures for its other power modes, so treat 56 miles as a ceiling, not an estimate of your commute.
+What changed about how Segway measures range?
Previously, Segway calculated maximum range by running a scooter until the battery was fully depleted, including the slow final stretch caused by low battery voltage. The new method stops measuring once the scooter can no longer hold at least 60% of the selected riding mode's top speed, which Segway says produces a more realistic usable-range figure. Because the MAX G3 Plus is the first Segway scooter tested this way, its range number is not directly comparable to older Segway models or to other brands still using full-depletion testing.
+How much does it cost and when does it ship?
Segway lists an introductory price of $1,149.99, rising eventually to a $1,499.99 MSRP, though the timing of that increase was not specified in the launch report. Preorders are open now in the US, with shipping scheduled to begin August 25 through Segway's online store, Best Buy, and Amazon. Payment timing and refund policy were not detailed; the report does not say whether the preorder requires a deposit or full payment.
+How heavy is the MAX G3 Plus, and can I carry it?
Segway lists the weight at 55.6 lb (25.2 kg) with a 286 lb payload rating. Electrek frames that weight as typical for a high-performance commuter scooter with a battery this large. Folded dimensions were not published, so if you need to carry it up stairs, onto transit, or into a small trunk regularly, confirm the folded size and handling with Segway before ordering.
+What is Segway's new ICBS braking system?
Intelligent Combined Braking System (ICBS) blends regenerative braking with the scooter's mechanical disc brakes. Segway says this improves braking performance while recovering energy and reducing wear on the physical brake pads. The MAX G3 Plus also includes anti-lock braking and traction control, though Electrek's report does not say whether those are new to this model or carried over from the previous MAX G3. All of these are manufacturer claims from the launch announcement; no independent stopping-distance or wet-weather testing exists yet.

Read next

Sources

  • Segway’s new MAX G3 Plus electric scooter goes farther with more power and better safety (Electrek, Micah Toll, August 4, 2026), our only source for every spec and claim in this article: the 717 Wh battery and 20% capacity increase; the claimed 56-mile maximum range in the lowest power setting; the 28 mph (45 km/h) top speed; the 2,200-watt peak motor output; the revised range testing method measuring to 60% of a mode’s top speed rather than full depletion; Segway’s statement that the official six-mile range increase would show as roughly 12 miles under an identical testing standard for both scooters; the new rear turn signals, redesigned brake levers, and reflector placement; the Intelligent Combined Braking System (ICBS); the dual hydraulic suspension, 11-inch self-sealing tires, traction control, and anti-lock braking; Apple Find My compatibility, the 2.4-inch TFT display, automatic headlights, and FlashCharge charging times; the 55.6 lb (25.2 kg) weight and 286 lb payload rating; and the $1,149.99 introductory price, $1,499.99 MSRP, and August 25 US shipping date through Segway’s store, Best Buy, and Amazon.
  • Hero image: Segway product image published by Electrek, optimized by RoostMode. It is a manufacturer-supplied product image, not a photograph from an independent ride or test, and nothing about the scooter’s real-world handling, range, or braking performance should be inferred from it.

RoostMode has not tested, ridden, or inspected the Segway MAX G3 Plus. Every figure above is Segway’s own claim, relayed through Electrek’s August 4, 2026 report, and none of it has been independently verified. Confirm range by power mode, preorder terms, and shipping reliability with Segway or your retailer before you pay.

Affiliate Disclosure: Some links on this page may earn us a small commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we'd use ourselves. This helps us keep producing detailed guides. Full disclosure →